98 The Ulster Plantation

On this episode of the Irish History Show we looked at the Plantation of Ulster. The Plantation was the colonisation of Ireland’s northern province of Ulster by people from Britain during the reign of James VI and I. The official plantation began in 1609 in six of Ulster’s nine counties, Donegal, Coleraine, Tyrone, Fermanagh, Armagh and Cavan. Lands in counties Antrim, Down and Monaghan were privately planted with Crown support.

We have recently started a Patreon page for The Irish Story website and The Irish History Show. Please follow the link and your support is greatly appreciated. https://www.patreon.com/user?u=29204818

Intro / Outro music “Sliabh” from Aislinn. Licensed under creative commons from the free music archive.

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: